2019 Missouri Emergency Medical Services Association Awards

The Missouri Emergency Medical Services Association held its 2019 Conference on August 1, at Margaritaville Resort at the Lake of the Ozarks. The Adair County Ambulance District received two of the awards presented during the closing session.

Darrell Crooks received the EMS Educator of the Year Award. Darrell is the in-house training officer for Adair County Ambulance District. He also conducts the first responder class and EMS updates for several local fire departments. He has served with the Novinger Volunteer Fire Department for several years. Crooks is also the Pastor of the Novinger Baptist Church.

Jerry Thomas received the First Responder of the Year Award. He is a captain with the LaPlata Community Fire Protection District where he has served for 53 years. He served as a volunteer for the Macon County Ambulance District for 15 years and was a nationally registered EMT. He is a first responder for both Adair and Macon counties. Jerry is an Army veteran earning the Korean Defense Service Medal and the National Defense Medal and is state-certified as a Firefighter II and Driver/Operator.